About MPI
MPI Experts
News Room
MPI Publications
MPI header
MPI Home | Donate | Contact |
11th Distinguished Service Award to be presented to
the Honourable Douglas Roche, O.C. on June 1, 2009

Press Release

OTTAWA, May 22, 2009 — The Honourable Douglas Roche, O.C., a former Senator and Member of Parliament who represented Edmonton, Alberta, will be honoured on Monday, June 1, 2009 with the Distinguished Service Award in recognition for his years of Parliamentary service, for his contribution to and respect for the institution of Parliament and for his continued interest and activity in the promotion of human welfare, human rights and parliamentary democracy in Canada and abroad. The award will be presented by the Hon. Noël Kinsella, Speaker of the Senate of Canada, and the Hon. Peter Milliken, M.P., Speaker of the House of Commons. The presentation will follow the unveiling of the Commemorative Plaques for Senators and Members of the House of Commons who served during the 39th Parliament.

The Hon. Douglas Roche, O.C. has specialized in peace and human security issues throughout his 35-year public career. He is the author of 19 books, including his latest, Creative Dissent: A Politician’s Struggle for Peace (Novalis, 2008). He was a Senator and Member of Parliament, as well as Canadian Ambassador for Disarmament, Chairman of the United Nations Disarmament Committee, Visiting Professor at the University of Alberta and Chairman of the Middle Powers Initiative. He was also a member of the Pugwash Council, which won the 1995 Nobel Peace Prize for its work for nuclear disarmament. Mr. Roche holds seven honourary doctorates from Canadian and American universities and has received numerous awards for his work for peace and non-violence. He is an Officer of the Order of Canada. Additional information on Mr. Roche and his work is available on his website at http://roche.apirg.org/public_html/index.html.

The Distinguished Service Award is a peer-nominated award presented annually by the Canadian Association of Former Parliamentarians to a former parliamentarian. Previous recipients are the Hon. Sheila Finestone, P.C.; the Hon. Jacques Hébert, O.C.; Mr. Wilton Littlechild, Q.C.; Mr. J. Roland Comtois; Dr. Bruce Halliday; Ms. Aideen Nicholson; the Hon. John M. Reid; Mr. Douglas M. Fisher; Mr. Stan Darling and the Hon. John Ross Matheson.

The Candian Association of Former Parliamentarians (CAFP) was created in 1987 and is composed of former parliamentarians who served in either the Senate or the House of Commons. An Act of Parliament (Bill C‑275) established the association in 1996. For more information about the Association, please see our website www.exparl.ca.

For more information or to attend the event, please contact:

The Hon. Don Boudria, P.C.

Acting Chair, Canadian Association of Former Parliamentarians

(613) 947-1690